Tuesday 10: 10 favorite movies

Below is a list of my 10 favorite movies. Some of them might be good, some of them might be bad, and some of them might be strange. Have some popcorn and enjoy!

In no particular order…

Goonies: For as long as I can remember, this movie has been one of my favorites. I’ve been quoting this movie for years and it has never failed to entertain me. I don’t think I can look at a Baby Ruth and NOT think of this movie. I own copies on VHS and DVD.

*

Ghostbusters: This was the very first movie my parents ever took me to the theater to see. My mom loves telling the story that while the audience was freaking out about the special effects and screaming at the ‘scary parts’ I was laughing and clapping. I own copies on VHS, DVD, and self-recorded VHS.
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
Star Wars IV, V, VI: Yes, I am a Star Wars purist and prefer special effects done with models vs. pixels. Also, I like my characters with dimension, story development, and hairstyles modeled after pastries. Another also, Luke Skywalker was my first love. I own 2 copies of each on VHS, copy of Return of the Jedi and Empire Strikes Back on self-recorded copies of VHS, and on DVD.
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
Mary Poppins: For whatever reason, this is my go-to movie when I am in bed feeling ill or am struggling with insomnia. Unfortunately, this movie is not accurate… I have tried snapping my fingers many times to clean my son’s nursery and nothing happens. I own it on DVD and self-recorded VHS.
*
*
*
Sense and Sensibility: Dude, Alan Rickman! Shot by shot this is a beautiful movie and a who’s-who of talented British actors. I had seen the movie years ago and thought it was alright, but when I took the time to pay attention the characters and story are no less than awesome. I own it on VHS and DVD.
*
*
*
*

Harry Potter I and II: Christopher Columbus really accomplished something amazing (and under-appreciated) with the first 2 movies of the series that he directed. It was nothing short of magical. Had it not been for the wow factor of the first movie, I never would have had an interest in the books. I own his and her copies of each on DVD.

*

Cars: I experienced the marketing phenomenon of Cars as a teacher who saw backpacks, toys, and clothing in her classroom everyday. When I was confined to bed rest recovering from an operation, I saw the movie for the first time of many. I thought the jokes were funny, the Cars were cute, and the plot reminded me of Doc Hollywood (another super-cool movie). Yes, a love of Cars before I had children. I own it on Blu-Ray.

*

*

Labyrinth: Jim Henson + David Bowie = Too awesome to be calculated by math! I own it on DVD and self-recorded VHS.

*

*

*

*

Month Python and the Holy Grail: Yes, I am one of those annoying people with a bad British accent who quotes the movie line for line and I have been known to browse for clips on YouTube when I need a laugh. I own it on stolen borrowed VHS and DVD.

*

*

*

*

*

Any John Hughes Movie: His filmography is the stuff of greatness: Mr. Mom, Sixteen Candles, Breakfast Club, Weird Science, Pretty in Pink, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, Planes, Trains, and Automobiles, National Lampoons Christmas Vacation, Home Alone… I own them on VHS, DVD, and many, many self recorded VHS.

*

*
*

*
Participate in the poll and vote for your favorite movie on my Top 10 List!

7 thoughts on “Tuesday 10: 10 favorite movies

Leave a Reply

