Spring Ambitions

I’m not a winter-girl. If you’ve ever held my icy hand, you might understand why not. I don’t mind November and getting cozy in a different wardrobe, but the excitement quickly fades and I complain endlessly about how much I hate sweaters, scarves, and boots. Not sure if this is the type of thing I need to apologize for these days, but please don’t find my seasonal stereotypes offensive. Christmas is enough to distract me in December, but on the 26th I impatiently wait for spring.

I must be part grizzly, because I set my alarm clock to springtime. I awaken from my hibernation in March and have an urge to do what I am so reluctant to do in the winter; GO OUT AND DO STUFF. In the winter my errands are a chore, in the springtime they are an excellent reason to get out of the house and find something else to do. My energy level skyrockets and being busy when the season changes is less negative than it is in the colder months.

My enthusiasm for Spring doesn’t seem to be motivating me through my to-do list. We all know that no amount of enthusiasm can give you more hours in the day. Already this spring, my Saturdays and Sundays become Mondays and I feel robbed of my weekends. Every Friday in the office, we all discuss our weekend plans. On Monday we discuss what we actually did. As you can imagine, my to-do list and my I-did list look nothing alike. It’s the difference between fantasy and reality. It’s the difference between marrying Luke Skywalker and marrying a man who puts his t-shirts on backwards.

I welcomed Spring with a standard cold; no dramatic fever or vomiting, just enough to make me feel miserable and bitchy for 6+ days. Now that I am feeling like my usual awful self, I am contemplating my current reason for being bitchy. Today I will blame it on Monday. Passing the cold on to my son, mother, and husband didn’t help.

If you have never visited Washington, D.C. in the springtime, DON’T EVER! I will be forced to hate you if you dare visit D.C. in March to April when we have Cherry Blossoms and parents who think they are clever and original for being their kids to D.C. for spring break. Yes, I am that bitch who ruined your beautiful family photo in front of the Capitol because I walked right through it. And despite the fact that I might be going to the same place you are asking me directions for, I will tell you I don’t know how to get there and walk away.

Also making me miserable this Spring is grass. I love boasting to others in D.C. about our 1 acre yard. I also love bitching about our 1 acre yard when we have neighbors who competitively mow their lawn to see who can have the shortest grass. I think our neighbors have stopped judging our tall grass, because they are nosy enough to notice that nobody is home during the weekdays and the weekends are usually raining. If you are good with numbers, we cut our grass 1 time for every 6 times they mow theirs. #TeachableMoment

After miraculously managing to survive on 4 hours of sleep each night to read 2 entire books, my husband has gotten me the 3rd book in the Hunger Games series. Easy read, but not when you are the mother to an over-achieving 1 year old who wants to get a head start on his terrible two’s. Reading books is like a drug; I shouldn’t be doing it because I don’t have the time, but once I start, it is hard to stop.  I’d like to jump into Game of Thrones next… that is like me getting a good stretch after I wake up from a nap and saying I might try out for the Olympics.

I have a long to-do list, but I am sure you do too. I don’t make New Year’s resolutions, but I always have Spring ambitions. Eventually, I’ll be realistic.

But now is not that time.

Now is the time for enjoying new possibilities and complaining about my failure to manage my time effectively.

How do you feel about Spring? Fresh start or just more to do?

7 thoughts on “Spring Ambitions

  1. I am the same way both about Spring and books being like a drug. I am a Summer girl and anxiously await sun starting on December 26th. And my to-do list has like tripled since the weather started getting nice. I also never get as much done as I would like on the weekends in part because I get so sucked into my books! Definitely read the Game of Thrones 🙂 Keep in mind that after 5 books, there are still a lot of questions. but at the end of each book you just want to go pick up the next one.

    • Summer is more of my season but I get so excited for it to NOT be winter anymore! Am pleased to see that season two of Game of Thrones starts on Sunday… hopefully that will satisfy me until my to-do list normalizes a little.

      Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts. 🙂

  2. We love spring because our humans start leaving the deck door open( while they are home) so we have the freedom to go outside whenever we want. It is nice to sniff the new grass and catch some rays.
    Bella and DiDi

  3. Hi there! I love your blog and I made it official: I nominated you for the Liebster Award. Check out the details on my blog when you get a sec (4eyedblonde.com) Congrats!

  4. This is funny and kind of hits home! I’ve always set goals for myself for the spring time, and most of them have been outdoor goals – gardening, yard word, etc… Well in our new home, there is a yard crew who does all that crap. Granted if I want flowers and I want an herb garden, I have to do them myself. I may or may not… maybe will get the kids to. It’s nice to not have the weekend after weekend of getting the yard ready on my plate. So yes, I’m ready for spring. Ready to hear the birds chirp, the days get longer, and to enjoy time outside not doing anything difficult… just prepping for parties, trips, hitting the beach and the summertime. 🙂

    Our friends were planning a spring break trip to DC, but they just nixed it the other day.

    • I could never be a vampire because I enjoy sunlight and longer days too much. I also think I would look like a total wuss if I sparkled all the time.

      Sounds like you have a fun-filled summer planned. Can you adopt me until October? 🙂

Leave a Reply

