Pinterest for Mommies

I heart Pinterest. I would marry it if I could, but my husband won’t let me.

What is Pinterest? It’s something different for everybody. It is a place to organize and share ideas and thoughts. It’s whatever you want it to be! Am I vague enough? I used to imagine my head was full of tiny people and filing cabinets. This microscopic office environment’s primary function was to retrieve and provide information when necessary. If this microscopic environment had a bulletin board for thoughts to ponder and ideas to try, that would be Pinterest.

Pinterest is not so different from other popular social media; you follow and have followers, can ‘like’ and comment on what you see, and can share and interact with others. When you see an image worth remembering, you ‘pin it.’ Whatever you ‘pin’ can be organized onto different ‘boards’ which represent different categories relevant and specific to you.

Personally, my fave board is Silly-Mommy. I love to laugh and share humor with others! For many, Pinterest is the go-to for crafts, DIY, recipes, and other projects. Here is a list of 5 projects I found on Pinterest that I HAVE tried and 5 projects I found on Pinterest that I HAVEN’T tried. Remember to follow me on Pinterest.

.

5 Projects I HAVE Tried on Pinterest

1. Sweet Potato Fries: I have yet to perfect the recipe and get a crispy frie, but it is delicious trying! Cost: About .70 cents per potato

***

2. Bacon and Eggs Candy: Take white chocolate discs and place on top of a cookie sheet lined with wax paper. Pop in a 200 degree oven for a minuter or two to soften the chocolate, then drop a yellow M&M and pretzel stick on top. Cost: About $10 for ingredients

***

3. Moustache Pacifier: I think moustaches are adorable, especially on kids. Cut a moustache from felt and secure to a pacifier with tape. I used a photograph of my son with a moustache and turned it into a special Valentine. Cost: About .20 cents for a sheet of felt.

***

4. Hungry Caterpillar Balloons: Inflate green balloons for the body and a big red balloon for the head. Use construction paper to make antennae and eyes. Secure all with tape. Cost: About $5 for balloons, tape, and construction paper. Learn more

***

5. Hungry Caterpillar Cupcakes: Make a batch of cupcakes and add green and red food coloring to icing. Ice cupcakes and get creative with refrigerator and pantry items to decorate the head. Cost: About $5.50 for cake mix, icing, and cupcake papers. Learn more

.

.

5 Projects I HAVEN’T Tried on Pinterest.. YET!

1. Cardboard Playhouse: My son loves playing in closets. No doubt, he would enjoy a playhouse of his own (and I would enjoy not cleaning up closets after he messes them up).

.

.

***

2. Cloud Mobile: I have been using the ceiling fan in our son’s room to create different mobiles. Fluffy clouds would be beautiful.

.

.

.

.

.

***

3. Sponge Blocks: This versatile DIY toy is inexpensive and simple. When my son is older (and less likely to eat the sponges) I hope to make him a set of sponge blocks.

.

.

.

.

***

4. Pretzel Buckeyes: Simple, I want to eat it, therefore I want to make it!

.

.

***

5. Pretzel Rolls: They look delicious and can be frozen for later use.

.

.

.

Remember to follow me on Pinterest. Are you on Pinterest too? Ready to try it out and need an invite? Leave me a comment!

7 thoughts on “Pinterest for Mommies

  1. I have tried Pinterest. A couple times infact. I have scanned pic after pic and even follow a bunch of people. I just still don’t see the point to it. I know a lot of gals love it though. It’s just not my cup of tea.
    Jill, visiting from the blog dare hop.

    • Thanks for visiting Jill. I was convinced my mother would LOVE Pinterest. She’s a crafty DIY-er. But it doesn’t seem to be her cup of tea either. Yep, some love it, others don’t. 🙂

  2. OMG those pretzel buckeyes. I am not a sweets gal unless there is a bunch of salt paired with it… YUM. Super cute stuff. I made a jabba the hutt body pillow and we’ve done a few other crafts and recipes. I’m lazy though.

Leave a Reply

