Guest Post: Rich in the Force

By guest blogger, Natalie Turner:

Blog: Four Jedis

First off, thank you, Jennifer, for inviting me to guest post. It’s my first time ever doing this. I’m honored, and flattered to say the least. I love your blog, reading your thoughts, anecdotes, etc… and love that you are a fellow working mama and you speak from the heart.

When Jennifer asked me to guest post, immediately I had all of these great ideas, and then one-by-one, they started to stink and I had writer’s block. I was pretty certain I was going to write about being both a working mom and a workout mom. Like 99% sure. I started the whole story. But then Thursday came. I was going to write about how important it is to let children express themselves. Not to say that every mom out there has to let their child get a mohawk, but rather let them pick out their clothes, their hairstyles, their look. And finally, Friday came. For the first time in probably 18 months or so, I had a really slow day at work (only because I’m awaiting the news of a redirection for the project on which I work). It was refreshing. I was going to get to do a bunch of things I normally could not cram into one week, let alone one day.

After hitting the gym at 9:15 (normally a 6 am-er), I drove to my 5-year old’s school (his blog-name is Anakin, just FYI) to grab lunch with him (there is an open-door policy for parents to eat with their kids every day for lunch – I try to go once a week). I went through the lunch line with him and per usual told the kind ladies, “I’ll have what he’s having.” Anakin and I took our hot dogs with salad over to the table and sat down. It was fun to eat with the kids and converse, at least for a little bit. One of Anakin’s teachers, Mrs. B., asked how the hot dog was. I replied, “It’s probably the first of 2 hot dogs I will eat this calendar year, so no complaints from me, especially since I don’t have to cook lunch today.”

Sitting next to me on the right, was Anakin. On my other side was our little friend, Ewok. On Ewok’s other side was a little boy… we will call him Palpatine. On Palpatine’s other side was another little boy whom we will call Darth Maul.

Palpatine heard my statement to Mrs. B, and said, “You know, if you eat out every meal, you won’t have to cook at all.” I turned to him and replied, “Yes, but eating out every meal wastes a lot of money and it’s not very healthy.” He responded, “Well I’m really rich so we eat out a lot.” Holy crap, I thought. What is wrong with this kid? My son doesn’t even know the meaning of the word “rich.” And how does he know his parents’ financials? He can’t even count to 100. My actual response to him was, “However much money your parents have means nothing to anyone. You should be rich with knowledge and kindness.” I then turned back to the more pleasant children at the table to try and refocus my attention on them. I could not help but overhear Palpatine turn to Darth Maul and carry on with his need for everyone to know of his family’s wealth. Apparently Darth Maul is rich too. The two “friends” began arguing with each other:

Palpatine: “My daddy is so rich because he is a loooooyyy-yer.”
Darth Maul: “Mine is rich too. He works in the movie indust-wy”
Palpatine: “Yes, but is your house right on the water? Mine has a dock.”
Darth Maul: “We can walk to the beach.”

I couldn’t stand it any more. I spoke up and stated, “It doesn’t matter how much money your fathers have. What matters is how much they love you and spend time with you.” It sounded good, right? Well it was actually kind of a low-blow on my part, knowing that Palpatine has a full-time nanny. Full-time meaning she works on the weekends too, and did I mention that his mom is a stay-at-home mom? Little buddy, Ewok, started to tell them what his dad did for work. I got Ewok’s attention back from the other two and said, “You know what your daddy does that’s even more important than that? He takes you to the movies, and takes you to sports, and plays outside with you.” He giggled.

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

On the way home from school, Anakin and I talked about what went down. I asked him if Palpatine talked about being rich a lot. Anakin asked me what the word “rich” meant and I told him how Palpatine described it and then what it means to Obi wan and me. He said he didn’t, but quite honestly, that’s the 4th or 5th time I have heard of Palpatine’s wealth. Anakin knew I was upset about the situation.

That night, at the dinner table, Obi Wan and I told the boys the 4 things they could do throughout their lives which would make them “rich” in the way that is most important. These four things are:
1. Always be kind and respectful to yourself and others.
2. Always use your head and be smart.
3. Always tell the truth.
4. Always work hard.

While we are going over them daily, we are also leading by example. Don’t be that mom whose child’s poor behavior ends up in a Star Wars’ lover blog.

So proud, the real Yoda would be.

5 thoughts on “Guest Post: Rich in the Force

  1. I LOVED THIS! I had a boss (who was extremely blessed) who used to repeat to us in staff meetings constantly “If you help enough people get what they want, you’ll have everything you want.” I plan on passing that info on to my boys! I love the little storm trooper… I have one that ‘stalks’ us… we place him all over the house and hunt for him for fun. He’s always doing silly things… similar to the Christmas Elf on the Shelf!

    • Such a cute idea to use another character after the Elf on the Shelf returns to the North Pole for the year!

      I think it is unfortunate that some people don’t appreciate hard work. I have seen many a co-worker come and go because they want the job, but not the effort they have to make to do it well.

      Love your Facebook page. FUN! 🙂

  2. Love it! We have had to have that same conversation, and its always important to talk about it when they start asking questions like “why don’t we have a pool like so and so”…ugh!

Leave a Reply

