7×7 Blog Award

Blogging is like a community. A strange community you might not want to be stranded in at 3am, but a community nonetheless. Get out there, explore some blogs, and enjoy what you might discover.

1. Thank the person who nominated you:

Thank you and a Jabba-the-Hut sized hug (minus the slime) to Natalie: Four Jedis. I have a nerdy crush on your blog and I consider it an honor to be recognized by you. Natalie is a mom trying to balance family, work, and Star Wars. Her sense of humor is refreshing and she is easy to relate to. I light sabre salute you, Natalie!

2. Share 7 things about yourself:

I’m eating a Clif Bar.

I was 5 months pregnant before discovering I was pregnant.

I used to do child-pageants. The skill building and making friends kind, not the flipper teeth and fake boobies kind.

The frames of the first pair of eye glasses I got when I was 12 years old is larger than any pair of frames I have had since. Also, I prefer wearing glasses to contacts because I’m like that.

Despite having naturally blondish hair, I dye my hair blond.

Although I always dress as though I might meet someone important when I leave the house (bra, clean underwear, and makeup), I have no problem wearing pajama bottoms, snow boots, and no bra when I am out in the yard.

Despite loving a good period drama and absolutely swooning over the gentlemen, I hate long hair on dudes.

3. Share 7 blog posts that fit the following categories:

Most Beautiful: First Year in Pictures It was a beautiful experience for me pulling a handful of pictures to mark my son’s first birthday and realizing how amazing the growth and development process is in children. Also, I am his mom and I think he is beautiful.

Most Helpful: Mommy-DIY A collection of blog posts that highlights DIY projects that I have actually DIY-ed. If I can do it, you can certainly do it!

Most Popular: Mommy-Did-It: Hungry Caterpillar Party I giggle inside when I think that of all the things I have posted, this is the most popular.

Most Controversial: Freaking Out About Co-Sleeping I was astonished at how angry people were with me when I told them my family co-sleeps. I had to have my say.

Most Surprisingly Successful: Behind the Bathroom Door Such an outpouring of emotion from other moms who had the same unusual problem I did.

Most Underrated: My Love Affair with Mr. Darcy A deep and artistic story about how I feel about my husband.

Most Pride Worthy: Life Labeled as a Working Mom It was therapeutic for me to share my feelings about an issue I don’t often speak to others about.

4. Nominate 7 other bloggers:

If you were nominated, please pass along on your blog and do the same (if you choose) so that others can see the great things that you do and discover some other blogs that you recommend.

In no particular order… (and 7 is just not a fair number to include every deserving blog)

Peace, Love and Yarn She’s a sweet and friendly momma with a blog about a beautiful life and some beautiful things she can do with yarn.

Drama Free Mama A fellow Virginian and Hyundai driver, this kind blogger discusses fresh and helpful topics and has an honest and true approach to her blog.

Motherhood on the Rocks: First I loved her blog concept and the wonderful design, then I loved the blog itself. There is a nice variation to the topics she discusses and something for everyone.

Take 10 with Tricia: She is always interacting with others and even makes me think I am funny on Twitter. Her blogging skills are strong and she’s nice enough to include photos in each post. Also, her family is gorgeous!

Novice Mama: The very first mommy blogger to welcome me to the mommy blog community. She has humorous posts and some fantastic illustrations to go along with the topics she discusses.

It’s 10:02 Again: This probably isn’t a compliment for her, but she is like my twin. I’m freaked out by the strange things we have in common but I totally heart her sense of humor and blunt honesty.

Raising Miss Mommy: She writes about beautiful things like family and relationships and her blog is a peaceful place to visit.

15 thoughts on “7×7 Blog Award

  1. I have enjoyed reading the highs and lows, the ups and downs, and the way motherhood hasn’t changed a whole lot in the past 30 years that I have parented. You label it differently or name it something else but in my views it hasn’t changed much at all. This blog has everything and anything for all ages. A new twist to parenting for first and young mothers and a trip down memory lane for the grandmothers and mothers of older children. Thanks Jennifer for making me laugh on a daily basis………..

  2. Thank you so much, Jennifer! I love your blog and all that you share with us. I am grateful beyond words that you thought enough of my blog to put me in your post! And… I know this will be a shocker to some… we believe and practice co-sleeping too! I will comment more on that on that post!

    Peace Love and Light!

    • You were one of the first fellow bloggers I met and you haven’t left me stranded! I also think your blog is very different than a lot of the other blogs I typically read, but I really like it and am attached. Keep up the good work, girl!

      And a personal yay on the co-sleeping!

  3. Thank you so much! I do love your tweets…and your blog. I’ve just been crazy busy and behind on commenting. I will pay-this-forward, but not for a few days. Thanks again and keep the great posts coming!

  4. I have never heard of this before and I LOVE it! Thank you so much for the nod – you bet your ass I take it as a compliment that you call me your twin!

Leave a Reply

