How I Met Your Father

My husband will hate that I’ve shared our story. I love him, but mostly I don’t care if this bothers him or not. It’s my story too. It’s the story of how we met.

When you are in high school, everyone wants to know when you will get your driver’s license.  When you are in college, everyone wants to know what you are majoring in. When you finish college, everyone wants to know where you are working. When you are working, everyone wants to know if you are dating anyone. When you are dating someone, everyone wants to know when you will get married. When you get married, everyone wants to know when you will start making babies. After you make babies, nobody cares about you anymore and their attention rightfully focuses on said babies.

After I finished college I started graduate school and was working full time. So what that means is, I got stuck on the ‘are you dating anyone’ question for a long time.

Eventually, I had heard it enough.

Most 20-something acquaintances were meeting their significant others in bars. I had hoped to meet my significant other in a library. Yes, nerdy but I assumed a library is the type of place where I might increase my odds of meeting a sober and intelligent person. Yeah, no.

Eventually, I looked on-line. Take a moment to gasp as you ponder explaining on-line dating to your grandmother. But after 2 days of searching profiles, I saw a picture that I liked. Yes I know, you don’t judge a book by its cover, but that’s how I picked my husband.

In a day we were chatting on-line for hours, in a week we were talking on the phone until the early morning, and in two weeks we were making plans to meet. But the scary thought of meeting him was almost enough to make me say no.

He called me on a Saturday night and told me he really wanted to see if our connection was what we thought it was. Despite the distance between Massachusetts and Pennsylvania, we knew it was something special. Don’t get any ideas of a dramatic meet-up on top of the Empire State Building. That stuff is for Tom Hanks (le sigh)!

My husband and I met the following day, September 12, 2004, at the airport. He splurged on a ticket, endured questioning from airport security as to why he was flying on such short notice, and our first date consisted of five hours together (and a supreme pizza from Pizza Hut) before he returned home.

This is where my story does sound like a Tom Hanks movie. The romantic-comedy kind, not the Academy Award winning kind. After my husband left that day, I immediately told my mother that I had met the man I was going to marry. As your roll your eyes at my absolute lovey nonsense, now ponder explaining that to your grandmother. Did I mention she’s feisty?

Finally on July 26, 2008, my husband and I were married. I don’t know what it will be like someday explaining to my children how I met their father. Will on-line dating be a norm or a thing of the past? But most importantly, we did meet.

16 thoughts on “How I Met Your Father

  1. Do the questions really stop and focus on the child. I know we talk daily and there are endless questions as to how is your day going…. As long as there is communication between mother and daughters, there will be endless questions….Let the good times roll!!!!!!

  2. i laughed when I read this because there is so much truth to it.
    Thanks for posting. and btw-many couples I know met online

    “When you are in high school, everyone wants to know when you will get your driver’s license. When you are in college, everyone wants to know what you are majoring in. When you finish college, everyone wants to know where you are working. When you are working, everyone wants to know if you are dating anyone. When you are dating someone, everyone wants to know when you will get married. When you get married, everyone wants to know when you will start making babies. After you make babies, nobody cares about you anymore and their attention rightfully focuses on said babies.”

    • So glad it made you laugh!

      In 2004 I knew one other couple who had met online. Now in 2012, I know many many more. In fact, I will be at a wedding in May for a couple who met on-line. I think on-line dating is now less new, unknown, and taboo than it had seemed to me.

  3. I love that you wanted to meet your husband in a library. It seems fitting, considering the time we spent in the library at school, making paper flowers for a “library wedding” haha!!

    And I completely felt the same way about my fiance when we first met…except I didn’t tell my mom that. After meeting him the first time, though, she was asking where my ring was…

    • Oh gosh… we did have practice weddings in the library, didn’t we?

      I think you picked a great hubby-to-be but I will try to restrain myself from asking you about having some babies.

  4. What a great story. I know tons and tons of people who met online and being an engineer, I’m kind of surprised I didn’t meet my husband online. Your story is just as romantic and most certainly has a happy ending. 🙂 I love that you had library practice weddings. I used to buy wedding catalogs even before I found someone to marry. Crap. I can’t believe I just typed that.

    • My dear, you are not alone! Before I ever started dating, I was reading wedding magazines and planning ahead! In fact, some of my earliest childhood memories were of play-weddings. Back in those days I thought that: 1. Luke Skywalker was REAL 2. I need only have a wedding in my playroom to be his wife 3. I wanted to sell waterbeds for a living. It is very fortunate that despite none of that coming true, indeed I married well. 🙂

  5. Awww! I think your story is wonderful! And I have several friends who have met their now spouses in the same way.
    I met mine when I was soaked at the race track and he had a rain coat on and was relatively dry. I still tease him about it almost 8 years later.
    Glad I swung by from Bloggy Moms!

    • I am so glad you stopped by from Bloggy Moms too and thanks for the compliment.

      One thing I have noticed from the comments here, is it seems that successful on-line dating is on the increase. I do hope your spouse offered you his raincoat. 😉

  6. I think that is a great story – I tried the on-line dating myself but got bored when none of the effort put in to messaging and emailing etc. ever really culminated in a meeting! Well, only once or twice and they were probably some of the most boring dates I had been on EVER! Maybe the British on-line dating thing is different?
    I have a lot of friends who are still in the on-line dating game so I will share your story with them, it will give them all so much hope!

    • Sorry it wasn’t as effective for you. 😦 Dating the ‘traditional way’ wasn’t working for me at all. It seemed my boyfriends and I always wanted different things and had different goals. When I met my husband on-line, we were matched by our goals and other criteria. That really helped make this work.

      I don’t know what on-line dating is like now (almost 10 years after I used it) but I truly do believe there is someone out there for everyone!

      And now I feel like singing All You Need is Love… 🙂

  7. Pingback: How I Really Feel About Valentine’s Day in 11 Images or Less |

Leave a Reply

