Whats, Whys, and Hows of Mommyhuh

To share the whats, whys, and hows of motherhood, I created this blog and thought I would start by answering a few questions. This interview was conducted by my own mother, Lauren, who has guided me throughout my life and now through this incredible journey called “motherhood.”

1. Tell me a little about yourself… I was born and raised in rural Pennsylvania. After graduating college with a degree in art, I moved to Washington, D.C. where I worked as a teacher for 5 years before starting my career in politics. I married in 2008 and enjoy spending time exploring the outdoors whenever weather permits.  I talk a lot, write a lot, and must admit that although my cooking skills are limited, I can really peel potatoes.

2. Tell me a little about your son… What mother doesn’t want to talk about their child? I always find it annoying when mommies advertise how “smart” their baby is (after all, healthy and happy is more important) but my son is always trying to figure things out. He is so much like his father in looks and personality, but I think he has my heart.

3. What do you do when you are not blogging? When I’m not working at my full time job, I am a full time mother and wife. Occasionally I sleep.

4. What is the strategy with your blog in general? What are your blogging goals? September 11, 2010 was the day I learned I was going to be a mom. September 12, 2011 was the day I learned about bowel movements during delivery, vaginal tears, and putting cabbage leaves on cracked nipples. Because I felt so unaware and unprepared, I felt unqualified to be a mom. But after consulting with other moms, I discovered they too had learned it all from other moms before them. They continue to serve as my support network when I find myself scratching my head over the color of baby poop or the next developmental milestone ahead for my son.

“Mommyhuh” is an expression of my learning process. I hope to educate and empower new and experienced moms as we harness the super-power of motherhood! Now, if only men would listen…

5. Where do you get your ideas for material and content for your blog? Sharing motherhood as it happens; the good, the bad, and the humorous. If other mothers can learn from my successes (yay! homemade baby food) and failures (boys should always be covered when changing their diaper) or at least laugh at them, I’ll be happy. I have lots of mommies and other sources and hope to share them with others.

6. If I was interested in blogging (oh my) what would be a few things you would suggest? Technical aspects aside, approach blogging as though you are sharing a conversation with friends. It’s an opportunity for you to express your thoughts and feelings. Most importantly BE YOURSELF.

In closing, please let me thank my mother for her contribution to this post and offer a special welcome to any moms (and non-moms) reading. I look forward to sharing motherhood with you in the future.

4 thoughts on “Whats, Whys, and Hows of Mommyhuh

  1. How old is your son? I have a 10-month old, my first, and I still have no clue what I’m doing. He doesn’t seem to mind though. 🙂 Motherhood is a wild ride, and I’m strapped in, holding on and loving every minute. Good luck with blogging, I just started a few months ago. It’s been great to preserve my sanity, even if it is hard sometimes to find the time to post while trying to stop my son from playing with the toilet paper…again.

    • Hello, Corinne.

      My son is 11 months old and our first child. Motherhood can’t be described with one word; it’s difficult, exciting, confusing, rewarding, stressful, etc, but I absolutely love it!

      Enjoy your son, blog, and motherhood. Best wishes! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Welcome to Mommyblog World |

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Baby Myths |

Leave a Reply

